The Mythology of Humanity

Here we will hold furrowed-brow debates whether humanity exists, or if it’s all just a myth…

No, wait, I mean, I’m starting this blog to discover why we humans need story.  And why we seem to need it more than ever, as everyone starts a blog, surfs YouTube, immerses in Second Life, etc. 

Perhaps this topic seems excessively grandiose, but as a writer (soon to be published author!) I desperately want to know — nay, need to know — why I tell myself stories and why anyone should want to listen.

And so I push this first little boat of words out into the glittering darkness of the blogosphere, laden only with a stub of a candle.

8 thoughts on “The Mythology of Humanity

  1. This is a subject worthy of thought and debate. Maybe we need stories to guide us to another place, somewhere to aspire to or from which to beware. I remember the look of rapt attention on my kids faces after the first time I’d read them a story but particularly the look of adulation when they themselves then came running with the book, asking to be read to. So, I think you’re onto something here about motivations and storytelling.

  2. I vaguely remember being too young to read to myself but sitting on the couch, a Seuss book open on my lap, with no idea how to make the words dance. Now, of course, I sit in front of my computer, wondering how to make the words dance. Yeah, I haven’t gotten far yet… I’m working on it.

  3. What a great launch query, Jessa! Maybe we simply to decided to create story to explain the shufflings, scuffles, and murmurs that always seem to be lurking just outside our ring of firelight. Or maybe we wanted more plot and coflict than just, “Hunt mammoth. Killed mammoth. Mammoth made good eating if slow-roasted.” Whichever, I’m glad you are now a published storyteller.

  4. Ah a philosopher to the end…nice blog, Jessa. I’ll take a stab at this. I think we NEED stories in order to make sense of our perception of reality and in order to provide an alternative reality that we can use as comparison. Personally, I love stories because they go beyond my immediate experience; and the very best stories make me believe that I can go there, do that, be the heroine, overcome evil, or just overcome a really bad day.

    I write stories for the same reason. By my characters recovering from wounds, giving the bad guy/gal come uppance, or just having a good laugh it makes me believe once again that I can do that too. Stories give me an idea of what can be if only I try harder.

  5. I think we NEED stories in order to make sense of our perception of reality and in order to provide an alternative reality that we can use as comparison.

    They say that since the brain is locked away inside its perceptual bubble and can only experience the world through the inherently flawed senses of its meat machine, that any internal experience that is intricately enough imagined is experienced by the brain as if it were real.

    Which means I can use as many adjectives as I want and blow my readers’ minds!

  6. A worthy mission for a blog. For readers, it’s getting lost in something new. For writers, it’s staying lost for as long as it takes to get to the end.

    Congrats on your upcoming release and your beautiful new blog 🙂

  7. Of course! The ‘why are we here?’ question that plagues all writers. Leave it to you to tackle that in your first blog post ever. I look forward to what you discover in the dark. *grin*

Comment

