Being the change you want to see

“You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one…”
— John Lennon

Now that everybody else has blogged on the U.S. presidential elections, I thought I’d get my licks in.  Heck, this is my generation’s Kennedy moment.  I’ve already gloated graciously accepted victory from my conservative Midwestern fam (You guys never had a freakin’ chance!  You live in Illinois!!!) so I’ll continue my pontificating here.

The day after the election, I was listening to NPR (I vote Democrat and listen to NPR — shocking, I know) doing an around-the-world comment session.  They talked to a man in Germany or Spain or someplace vaguely booted (Italy, maybe?) who said, paraphrased:

“You Americans are always talking about how you reinvent yourselves.”

Then he paused a moment.

“Well, I guess you did.”

I cheered.

No matter how you feel about Obama, c’mon, you have to admit it’s pretty cool we did what people said we couldn’t do.  They said we weren’t ready for a woman, we weren’t ready for a black man, they said we were loud, ugly, blundering, dangerous idiots.  Well, pthbt on you.

We’re telling a new story about ourselves.

However.  Prop 8 passed in California, banning gay marriage.  Obviously, we still have some editing to do in this new story of ours.  But the outcome spawned some interesting discussion about the role of the writer in telling new stories like this.

Does being the change you want to see in the world mean you have to be black or gay?  Uh, no.  You don’t even have to be an actual writer.  But who better than storytellers to spin out a new arc with an HEA* we all can cheer for?

Regardless of your political leanings, I think this is an excellent time of the year (and an interesting time of the economy) to contemplate that German/Spanish/Italian guy’s reluctant admiration and ask ourselves, What about me could stand a little reinvention?  What could be tightened (abs not included) and polished, what could be revised and resubmitted on the world’s stage? 

Imagine.

 

* That’s Happily Ever After for you non-romance folk.

2 thoughts on “Being the change you want to see

  1. Ha! What part of IL? Chambana over here, and then De Kalb. Oh, and don’t forget Bloomington and, well, the rest of south central. If it’s farmland, I’m probably related to the owner. But I feel compelled to point out that Obama is from Illinois, and I’ve been hearing about him for years from my liberal-almost-90 grandparents (the ones from Champaign ;)).

  2. Jessa, the word on the street here in South Korea is that they are VERY excited about Obama. In fact, they LOVE him. They think he will improve relations with North Korea so that they can see their relatives again. Good luck B.O.!

Comment

