On The Far Side

I was never a contest slut.  A contest slut is someone who enters every contest, foolishly hopeful this time one will fall in love with her.  No, I was a contest courtesan.  That’s someone who enters contests with a cold-eyed practicality and intent to profit.

Since I sold my first novel off a writing contest, it’s probably no wonder I have a soft spot in my hard heart for writing contests.

If you were thinking of becoming a contest courtesan, you might want to check out the 2009 On The Far Side contest.  Hosted by the Fantasy, Futuristic & Paranormal special interest chapter of the Romance Writers of America, OTFS carters to the wildest side of romance: Vampires, dragons, shapeshifters, demons (yay!), faeries, witches, aliens… uh, alien vampires…  You get the drift.

The contest meets my courtesan criteria, with solid final round judges and good specificity in the categories (special interest chapter contests have the advantage here because you can refine exactly what you’re aiming).

Categories are:
Futuristic: Hard SF/SF/General Futuristic
Paranormal: Dark/Light/General
Time Travel: Time Travel/Steampunk/Historical with Paranormal Elements
Fantasy: Dark/Urban/General
Erotic (with FF&P elements)
Romantic Elements (with FF&P elements)
Young Adult (with FF&P elements)

Final round judges:
Erotic: Kelli Kwiatkowski, Ellora’s Cave
Romantic Elements: Lucy Carson, Friedrich Agency
Futuristic: Laura Bradford, Bradford Literary Agency
Paranormal: Leah Hultenschmidt, Dorchester
Time Travel: Colleen Lindsay, Fineprint Literary
Fantasy: Deb Werksman, Sourcebooks
Young Adult: Michelle Grajkowski, 3 Seas Literary

Deadline is August 29. Learn more at http://www.romance-ffp.com/OTFS.cfm  And good luck.

While you’re there, check out some of these great FF&P folk.  If you write in these genres, I think you’d be happy here among them.

Danica Avet, Unearthly Musings blogger

C.J. Ellisson, marketing expert

Lisa Kessler, Disney expert (you’ll see what I mean)

Liz Pelletier, our web diva

Terry Spear, Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of the Year

2 thoughts on “On The Far Side

  1. Hey Jessa! I had no idea you mentioned me in this post, thanks! Very kind of you to list me as a marketing expert! I’ll admit it – I read a lot of other author blogs and take advice from each one and try to get it to work for me – so I’m not sure how accurate your title is, but I’ll take it!

    I like your term about contest courtesan. I had no idea you got a contract that way, and I’m so glad to hear it. Kudos to you!! Knowing who the final judges are is exactly why I choose to enter certain contests.

    Good looking blog – keep up the great work!

Comment

