Amok on Mondays: Guest Jenna Bayley Burke

amok monday guest authorsWhich Disney princess are you most like? Or least like? Personalities aside, whose hair would you want?

Funny you should mention Disney…I tend to type my heroines by Disney princess. Yes, really. It’s part of my brainstorming process. Saskia in Caribbean Christmas is Tinkerbell, smitten and flitting about. I think I’m more Belle…and we all want Ariel’s hair. Right?

Not including the obvious (guns, knives, etc.) which object nearest you would make a suitable weapon in the event of a zombie-ninja-robot invasion? 

I’d beat them with my foam roller and plantar fasciitis braces. My posture brace is practically a straight jacket. Physical therapy for the win!

What do you like best about your current work, published or not?

The setting. I love the Caribbean. Okay, so I’ve only been once, briefly. But I loved what I experienced.

Which romantic lead tropes do you find yourself returning to in your stories?

Beauty and the Beast. Oh, and knowing the difference between a Rapunzel and Cinderella theme. Rapunzel discovered who she always was once she was free, Cinderella gets a makeover to see herself in a new way, but retreats.

If you weren’t a writer, what would you do with all that free time?

Sleep. That’s where I borrow my writing time from. I’d also volunteer more, like with my boys’ Battle of the Books team, or teach an art class for my wee small girl. I would read, read, read. I bet I would burn through Kindle’s the way I currently burn through laptops.

Jenna Bayley BurkeJenna Bayley-Burke
www.jennabayleyburke.com
www.twitter.com/jennabb
www.facebook.com/jenna.bayleyburke
pinterest.com/jbayleyburke/

Caribbean Christmas excerpt – http://jennabayley-burke.blogspot.com/2012/11/caribbean-christmas-excerpt.html

Caribbean Christmas Jenna Bayley Burke

‘Tis the season for unwrapping the gift of pleasure.

Under the Caribbean Sun, Book 1

When Saskia snags a last-minute ticket home to the Caribbean isle of Anguilla, she intends to surprise her workaholic father and to reconnect over Christmas. When she finds he’s away on business, there’s still plenty to fill her time while she waits. Sailing, snorkeling…and an unexpected, very adult attraction to her girlhood crush.

Joe Prinsen is certain Saskia has returned to the island only to ask for money. He feels it’s time she learns the truth about her father’s depleted financial situation from the man himself. And he intends to make sure she sticks around long enough to hear it.

Except the girl he remembers has matured into a devastatingly sexy woman. She’s taking all his noble intentions and unwrapping them, one by one, until their shared desire is revealed in the warm Caribbean water. Saskia’s only home for Christmas. And once she finds out the secret he’s hiding, she’ll no doubt leave the Caribbean, and him, for good.

“By the time they got their clothes on and made it back to his truck, Joe knew he’d made a critical error.” Read the rest of the excerpt on Jenna’s website.


Product Warnings: The only thing hotter than the tropical sun is the sex—in the surf, on the water, against the bookcase… Readers will be wise to monitor electronic devices, and themselves, for overheating.
5 thoughts on “Amok on Mondays: Guest Jenna Bayley Burke

  1. Oooo, I forgot about Ariel’s hair. Absolutely want hair that will stay perfect even underwater, or just in the rain of the Pacific Northwest.

    Fun answers, Jenna. Happy Holidays to you and your family.

  2. Ariel’s hair is nice, but Rapunzel’s hair? Now THAT’S awesome. AND it’s a built-in Zombie apocalypse weapon. Just sayin’. 😉

    Great interview, Jenna…now heading off to read the rest of your excerpt! Have a wonderful holiday! 🙂

Comment

